Food Pusher

Strawberry Balsamic Brownie

I knew I had to make this brownie recipe this weekend when I found it on Tastespotting. The sweet and tanginess of the strawberry balsamic jam went well with chocolate, but it wasn’t too sweet. I’m definitely going to make this again! Here is the recipe, with some of my tweaks.

(Recommended: chop the strawberries in half again!)

For the Strawberry Balsamic Jam:
2 tsp + 1 tsp of Aged Balsamic vinegar (divided)
1 Tbsp sugar
1 cup roughly chopped strawberries (measure the strawberries after you chop them, not before)
1 tsp of tapioca flour (I did not have or want to buy tapioca flour, so I substituted it for 1/2 tsp of cornstarch mixed with 1/2 – 1 tsp of cold water)

Put the chopped strawberries, sugar, tapioca flour and 2 tsp of balsamic vinegar into a heavy saucepan. Cook over medium heat until the berries disintegrate, about 5 minutes. Pour in the cornstarch + cold water  mixture and combine until jam thickens. Remove from the heat and stir in the reserved 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar. Put aside to cool while you make the brownie mix.

I used a fudge brownie box mix (it was midnight and I didn’t have chocolate!), but I will probably opt for a non-fudge brownie next time. The jam and fudge are similar in texture, so it didn’t pair too well together in my opinion (read: it was like mush on mush). But of course, you can use whatever brownie recipe or box mix you want. Also, you can find the original fudge brownie recipe for this strawberry balsamic brownie recipe here.

After you pour the prepared brownie batter into your baking dish of choice (I used a 9×9 square pan), spoon small dollops of the jam onto the brownie batter. Be sure not to push the jam into the brownie batter — just let it rest on top. Run the knife through the jam so it spreads out in lines (think marbled cheesecake), then bake according to the directions for your recipe/box mix.

Voila! The mushiness of the fudge brownie made it slightly difficult/messy to cut out hearts (another reason why I’d opt for a non-fudge recipe), but the cuteness factor was well worth it! I topped them on strawberry cupcakes :)

Standard

Leave a Reply

