Sewing Bug

Sewing Project #3 – striped zippered pouch


Zippers, oh me oh my! I loved this project. And especially with Dana’s super clear directions, it wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be. The only problem I ran into was the lining getting caught on the zipper, but that was because I sewed way too close to the zipper. I made the adjustments for the second pouch and it zips fine. Might just have to take apart the blue one and redo it!


I really like the look of the metal zipper, as used in the blue stripe pouch. The plastic ones are easier to sew because they are less bulky but they curl up more than the metal ones. Either way, zippers are not as intimidating as they seem. If I can sew a zippered pouch, anyone can!

Sidenote: photos were taken with my new lens, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G from Nikon, as recommended by Lauren of Lauren Elise Crafted. Friends’ children, flowers, etc. beware! :)

Standard

8 thoughts on “Sewing Project #3 – striped zippered pouch

  1. Lovely.

    I agree with you about the metal zippers, I really think they look better sometimes. Glad you are not so intimidated by zippers now, so many posibilities when it comes to zippered pouches!

  2. i likey!!

    I’m sewing a garden/craft tote with my green stripe fabric. decided the chevron pillow can wait until later…I may have to go back to Ikea and restock on the stripes :)

Leave a Reply

