Miscellaneous

Stuff vs. Experiences

A while ago, I read about a study where it was concluded that people tend to be happier after spending money on experiences as opposed to spending money on stuff. That was a poor explanation (shame on me, the one with a Psych degree), but you get the point. Nail polish vs. mani/pedi. iPod vs. concert tickets. Anyway, it was after recalling this study that justified my major splurge today.

I’ve been eyeing the Panasonic Lumix GF2 for monthsssss. My old coworker had the GF1 and her pictures and videos really convinced me that I needed one. My point and shoot was crappy. The videos it recorded were crappy. I just need something compact that takes great photos, because honestly, lugging around a DSLR all the time is not practical. It’s a nice camera and I’d get more use out of it than my DSLR, but is practicality worth $700+? Stuff.

At the same time, I’ve been eyeing this one particular photography workshop for a while now. I’ve been looking for a photography workshop for even longer. This photographer’s portfolio is spectacular (as are photographers that took his workshop), he seems to be young/fun/hip, and he’s got great reviews. I’ve always wanted to improve my photography skills and I know I’ll learn a lot from the workshop that I can use for a long time. Experiences.

And so I put the money down for the photography workshop in hopes that it’ll help me improve my photos and help me get the max out of my cameras (current and future ones). I read something in workshop reviews that really resonated with me too: I’ll be taking pictures for the rest of my life, so I might as well learn how to do it the right way. {EDIT} And when I say that I will be taking pictures for the rest of my life, I do not mean that I will be a professional photographer for the rest of my life or even taking professional looking photos for the rest of my life. But for the rest of my life, I will be taking photos of my family and friends, my future children, celebrations, vacations, etc. And that being so, I want to learn how to take proper, beautiful pictures with the equipment I have.

Here’s to more happiness!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Stuff vs. Experiences

  1. Hey, girl, get the GF2 right away!
    It’s really worth it!
    The auto focus is fast, the result is better than most entry level DSLRs, the size is much smaller and thinner, the video’s great, too!
    Get the dual kit lens (14-42mm and 14mm F/2.8, or just get the 14mm F/2.8).

    ” I’ll be taking pictures for the rest of my life” –> you have to remind this to yourself in another 2-3 years, because by then you’ll feel bored, discouraged and thinking of giving up photography.
    Many, many, many of my photographer friends quitted after 2-3 years.
    Don’t start if you won’t last! LOL

  2. Tami Tran says:

    I think it’s totally justifiable to spend more money on cameras and photography workshops! I feel like we’re kind of alike in the fact that we both value photographs and the memories kept in them. So go crazy, girl! :]

    I don’t know too much about the camera you’re checking out, but I have a Canon Powershot S90 (~$300-400), and I think it takes pretty good pictures.

  3. Smart move, Donna! I learned A LOT in the photography workshop I attended. And the tips and tricks I learned helped improve my photography by leaps and bounds! Have fun at the class!

Leave a Reply

