DIY

DIY fabric rosettes in a shadow box

Do what you love. Love what you do.

White frame: IKEA 9.75×9.75 shadow box frame
Fabrics used: yellow jersey, burlap, and tulle
Fabric Rosette tutorial: Cherry Street Cottage

I made this as an end-of-the-school-year gift for a counselor friend. Unintentionally, I’ve made something like this for co-workers at the past 2 schools I’ve been at, and I really like it. It’s easy to personalize, looks like a lot of effort for very little money, and is not a very common teacher gift. I think it’s going to be my thing from now on!

I tried different ways of making the fabric rosettes, but I liked the Cherry Street Cottage method best, although I used the bottom side of the rosette she made in the tutorial instead of the top. Both sides turn out to be a nice looking flower, so you really can’t go wrong. I especially like it when the raw fabric edges peep out here and there. The imperfect look of it really goes with the burlap too. I tucked in some tulle here and there just for some texture and softness.

Like with the other shadow boxes I made, I chose a quote/phrase that I felt best matched the recipient. Hopefully she agrees! I could totally see a friendship quote with this shadow box too, since yellow roses symbolize friendship. Definitely going to make more this summer and I’m considering selling them in my Etsy shop too!

Standard

5 thoughts on “DIY fabric rosettes in a shadow box

  1. what a beautiful and thoughtful gift! I hope she loved it…but why wouldn’t she?! I would love to receive something like this! BTW- this is the 2nd post of the day when someone described their DIY gift idea as “their thing”. Got me thinking that I should fine my own “thing” to gift :)

Leave a Reply

