DIY

DIY Grapefruit Sea Salt Scrub

On my recent trip to the day spa, I got thee best food scrub ever. It was painful but relaxing at the same time, if that’s even possible, but probably because of all the aromas from the scrub. It’s my favorite part of a pedicure because it just feels so good afterwards. The citrusy smelling scrub looked homemade too so naturally, I started thinking about how I could make my own.

A quick Google search yielded a few recipes but of course I went with the one from Martha Stewart. I didn’t follow it exactly though because it was a recipe for a bath salt, only the ratio of sea salt to Epsom salt (3:1). I purchased Himalayan salt and grapefruit essential oil from Amazon.com, and Epsom salt from my local Target. The 12.5 oz square canning jars were from Sur La Table and is a generous size to give away as a gift.

And yes, it was amazing. I’m so using this in-between pedicures.

Grapefruit Sea Salt Scrub Recipe
Recipe makes ~13 oz 
1.5 cups Himalayan salt or 3 parts
.5 cups Epsom salt or 1 part
~20 drops of grapefruit essential oil

In a large bowl, mix the two types of salts together. Add a few drops of grapefruit essential oil and mix together until you the salt is coated in the oil (but not soaking in it). Store in a cool, dry place and enjoy!

Standard

One thought on “DIY Grapefruit Sea Salt Scrub

Leave a Reply

