Food Pusher

back to the grind

Tomorrow is the start of a new school year for us here in SF. I’m ready as I’ll ever be and am almost done prepping/planning my meals for the work week. It sounds silly but it gives me anxiety. What am I going to eat, is it healthy, will I be too tired to cook, will it even be good? Blah blah. Otherwise, it’s the best thing I could do for myself because more times than not, it’s much healthier than what I’d eat if I got take-out, and it saves me money (big plus)!

I usually have oatmeal and fruit for breakfast, but thought I’d make something special since I had a lot of ripe bananas just waiting to be thrown out if I didn’t eat it soon. Banana nut bread! How original, right? Anyway. I’m on a perpetual diet so I used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour and apple sauce instead of oil. Yep, a “healthy” banana nut bread, although when researching recipes, I realized there isn’t really such a thing (see nutritional values below). Regardless, the bread was still moist and tasty. Too bad my oven is a little wonky and the top didn’t get to brown with the rest of the bread. Otherwise I think I have a winner!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe
12 servings, adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed bananas
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, beat oil and honey together. Add eggs, and mix well. Stir in bananas and vanilla. Stir in flour and salt. Add baking soda to hot water, stir to mix, and then add to batter. Blend in chopped nuts. Spread batter into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  3. Bake for 55 to 60 minutes. Cool on wire rack for 1/2 hour before slicing.

Nutritional Information
Amount Per Serving  Calories: 186 | Total Fat: 7.3g | Cholesterol: 35mg

Standard

3 thoughts on “back to the grind

  1. you’re so good. i tend not to discriminate what i consume when i’m busy and sadly, there are some days when my sole form of sustenance is cereal!

    your banana bread loaf looks yummmmmmy.

Leave a Reply

